Donate Today:



Our judges are busy reading your outstanding writing.

We hope you’re still writing and writing and writing!


If you’re in the area, consider joining us on April 30th for our Awards Celebration hosted by Kepler’s Literary Foundation in Menlo Park, CA.


Next year’s contest opens again on November 1st! Details are as follows:

Open to students in Grades 6-12.

We’re looking for an outstanding piece of short fiction that consists of exactly 1000 words. Tell a story only you can tell. Write something you believe in. Write something that moves you, that dazzles you, that says precisely what you want to say in precisely the way you want to say it. As long as you say it in precisely 1000 words!

Share your passion, get recognition, and win some cash.

Earn one of two $1000 grand prize scholarships and seven $100 cash prizes.

Get published in the literary journal Bluefire.

Visit our Contest Page to read the contest rules and frequently asked questions.

Join our mailing list at our Contact page to find out the contest start date and deadlines.

We look forward to reading your stories!